Is Facebook Secretly Accessing Your iPhone’s Camera? Some Users Claimed

It appears that at the center of yet another issue involving privacy.

Reportedly, multiple iPhone users have come forward on social media complaining that the app secretly activates their smartphone’s camera in the background while they scroll through their feeds or looking at the photos on the social network.

As shown in the videos below, when users click on an image or video on the social media to full screen and then return it back to normal, an issue with the app for iOS slightly shifts the app to the right.

It opens a space on the left from where users can see the iPhone’s camera activated in the background.

However, at this moment, it’s not clear if it’s just an UI bug where app incorrectly but only accesses the camera interface, or if it also records or uploads something, which, if proven right, would be the most disastrous moment in ‘s history.

The issue immediately got the attention of other users, many of them tried reproducing the issue but failed, which likely suggests the buggy software update has not been rolled out to everyone worldwide and might affect a fraction of users only.

The Hacker News was also not independently able to reproduce the bug and, thus, can not verify the authenticity, extent and severity of the issue.

Joshua Maddux, one of the users who discovered this bug, claimed that he tested and was able to replicate it on at least 5 different iPhones running iOS 13.2.2, which is the latest iOS version.

“I will note that iPhones running iOS 12 don’t show the camera but not to say that it’s not being used,” Maddux said.

Some users also tested the issue after revoking camera permissions from , and they found that the background space was just a black screen in that case.

Since none of the Android users has yet noticed or complained about a similar flaw in , it seems like the bug only affects some for iOS users.

The news came less than a week after admitted that roughly 100 app developers might have improperly accessed its users’ data in certain groups, including their names and profile pictures.

We’ve reached out to for more information, and if we hear back from them, we’ll update this post.

Update – It’s a bug, confirmed!

A spokesperson for the confirmed The Hacker News that it’s indeed a bug, saying:

“We recently discovered that version 244 of the iOS app would incorrectly launch in landscape mode. In fixing that issue last week in v246 (launched on November 8th) we inadvertently introduced a bug that caused the app to partially navigate to the camera screen adjacent to News Feed when users tapped on photos. We have seen no evidence of photos or videos being uploaded due to this bug. We’re submitting the fix for this to Apple today.”

“Triggering this bug activated the camera preview, and once triggered, the preview remained active until you tapped elsewhere in the app. At no point was the preview content stored by the app or uploaded to our servers,” Guy Rosen, VP Integrity at said.

“We’ve confirmed that we didn’t upload anything to FB due to this bug and that the camera didn’t capture anything since it was in preview mode. We’ve submitted a fixed version to the App Store which is already rolling out.”

Found this article interesting? , and to read more exclusive content we post.
Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

Recent News